Saturday, December 20, 2008

Marriage Equality Flag

The flag is based in the custom of 19th century suffragettes. At their annual convention they would add a star to the flag for each state that had adopted a women's right to vote. Although there is no official order - the stars are generally read right to left in the order they were admitted to the Union. Represented are - Massachusetts and Connecticut. 
After each victory more stars will be added.
One day it will be filled again and there will be no second class citizens. 

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

One can only hope. Luv, Rosie